A possible farewell

Started by Aethereal, February 03, 2011, 11:55:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Aethereal

Well with the death of Aessar I don't really feel like playing anymore. I guess it was nice while it lasted... but it is an odd and unbalanced combination of game play and story.

I mean as Aessar died he did not fight back... pvp just broke out of nowhere, no warning, so I don't know - I even buffed the guy before he did the deed. Sure it progresses the story, but it isn't really fair gameplay for the player on the receiving end, if you ask me.

I'm a game designer myself and I am hardcore gamer as well, so I know what I want out of a game. I really don't think I can achieve it in EFU:A as the type of game I want would have a permanent character, who can go through see the world change and evolve around him and chronicle it. Like historian or a scrivener of doom, really.

From what I've heard from  several players, the server is greatly about player conflict. That is fair enough, but to keep playing new characters whilst holding all the knowledge and experience from your last, repeating all that you did over and over again... No thanks, I don't play games to grind on stupid quests. I could RP all day, watch the others kill each other, play a minor role in it. But I think something like that is not possible on EFU. Sure, there are consequences for your actions  - but I'd prefer to see creativity rather than simple permanent death. Especially when one invests as much in a character as I do.

I like to think something creative can still be done here. I don't know though. I wonder what other people think on this topic.

Edit: Oh and the fact I don't like PvP and overly competitive environments doesn't help either.
---
'Even life eternal is not time enough to see, all the folly and despair of poor Humanity.' - To Life - A Shoggoth on the Roof

It is through Art, and through Art only, that we can realise our perfection.

prestonhunt