Hippie's OOC culture pontification and gushing

Started by Lalena Steele, February 15, 2023, 03:03:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lalena Steele

Greetings. I figured I would make this little thread to gush about all the iconography drawn from Real world ancient cultures on the new server for any others who are fascinated by them like I am. And so I don't break anyone's immersion by breaking into long winded ooc gushing about it.  As many of you probably know I am a real world museum professional who studied archaeology so this current iteration of EFU is like catnip to me.

I plan to go into more detail about some specific buildings in the main hub. To avoid spoilers I will only be talking about areas that are easily accessible to all PCs, and not go into anything that is in quest areas or in areas where you might need to be higher level to go. 

My initial observations:

The setting textures are heavily ancient Egyptian but there is iconography drawing inspiration from other middle eastern, Mediterranean and eastern cultures.  The main wallpaper of the setting features a series of Egyptian hieroglyphs. I have not yet spent enough time look at them to see if they repeat or if they are unique, and if they are taken from actual Egyptian text. The hieroglyphs on the obelisks feature cartouche that would indicate a name of a specific person. The lion mosaics around the buildings in the main plaza are a bit baffling to me at the moment. They look very familiar. They are similar to roman style mosaics but not quite, maybe Aegean? I need to do some research to say for certain.

Lalena Steele

Within the Gate of Coins is a doorway heavily drawing on Ancient Egyptian iconography.  Flanked on either side by a jackal headed man holding an Ank. At the top of the doorway is a winged Aten sun-disk.