Bye... for now

Started by Thorny, October 15, 2019, 02:24:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thorny

Hi,

I really enjoyed the server content, the humour and creativity in it, what I see as a novel take on party and experience mechaincs, the plentiful potential and the attention to details.
But there is a problem that I cannot yet move past and that is the nwn1 interface (I have been on nwn2 for the past decade or so).  I find it hard to manage the pathing and even walk in a straight line, I find the radial menus difficult to interact with, the keyboard mappings limited, the inventory awkward and many other purely interfacing issues.  To be honest, I'd jump at the chance to improve the game GUI (I'm a coder of four decades), but it would have to be for the game rather than an individual server.

While the death penalty was surprisingly heavy, that in itself is not a problem.  But when presented with the inevitability of dying many times to issues of control, it would be unrealistic for me to play here without losing more xp than I gain and ending up fustrated by my own clumsiness.
This is of course exacerbated by my choice of character, having a woeful ac and a determination to prove himself, but rp comes first and that is not going to be compromised by mechanics.  If my character were asked to accompany a group, then I will follow my character's response and not let my own reservations intervene.

I therefore need find a less punishing server on which to play while I try to adapt, one which I may be able to progress.  It may take me a few weeks or more to work out how to play as fluidly as others, but I hope to return to my character, Dolin, when I can really do him justice and weave his story here.  I know that established players here are keen to help the newer, and I am grateful for that, but I learn better at my own slow pace. So, until then, good luck to all and thanks for the experience.

Thanks,
Thorny.